When setting up a Facebook account for the first time it is important to remember that Facebook requires that your main account is a personal profile. But many businesses created their main accounts in their business names and that can cause several issues.
First of all, since profiles are for meant individual people, they aren’t suited to meet your business needs. There are limitations such us not being allowed to have more than 5000 friends. Most importantly, your page will not be able to be seen by anyone who is not logged in. In other words, if your business is displaying a Facebook icon on your website, telling people to go check out your page, and that person does not have a Facebook account or is not logged in, all they will see is something telling them to log in.
Defeats the purpose of promoting your page doesn’t it?
MOST IMPORTANTLY using a personal profile for anything other than an individual person is a violation of Facebook’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities. If you don’t convert your profile to a Page, you risk permanently losing access to the profile and all of your content. They WILL and DO delete these pages regularly with NO warning and you will lost all your friends and activity.
This is why you want to go and create a Business Pages. It offers more robust features for organizations, businesses, brands, and public figures, which you can learn more about here. Most importantly, you can have as many friends as you like and anyone can view your page, regardless if whether they are logged in!
GOOD NEWS, Facebook has not created a way for you to convert your page to a Business page easily so you don’t have to start over.
How do I convert my profile to a Page?
If you would like to convert your profile to a Page, click begin here.When you convert your profile to a Facebook Page, they will transfer your profile pictures and add all of your friends as people who like your page.No other content will be carried over to your new page, so be sure to save any important content before beginning your migration.
To avoid losing important content, we recommend taking these steps before you convert your profile:
- Download your profile information. You can download a file that contains all of your sent and received messages and all of the photos and videos you’ve uploaded to Facebook.
- Appoint a new group admin or a new Facebook Page admin to any groups or pages that you manage. The account you’re converting will lose these admin rights during the conversion process.